Friday, July 25, 2008

Dead C Tour The U.S. - Pitchfork Hears It First.

Legendary kiwi noise rockers, The Dead C, return to the states for a limited run. Details below were taken from a Pitchfork news article that was posted earlier this week.

The Dead C Reveal Rare U.S. Tour, New Album, Reissues...and tour-only 12"!

Fun fact about the Dead Sea: it has a lot of salt and stuff.

Fun fact about the Dead C: the Earth has circled the Sun some five times since the long-running experimental New Zealand combo last toured the U.S., and 13 times since their most recent visit to the East Coast.

That all changes this October, as the Dead C have announced a brief Stateside visit, kicking off in Philly on the 12th and wrapping just a few days later in the Chi. All kinds of noiseniks and other weirdos are coming out of the woodwork to support the Dead C on this trek, including Thurston Moore's Northampton Wools project, Wolf Eyes, Six Organs of Admittance, and Sightings.

So what's the occasion for this rare overseas voyage? Why, a new Dead C record, naturally. Secret Earth packs in four presumably long tracks and arrives October 14 on CD and vinyl thanks to Ba Da Bing.

But that's not all! Ba Da Bing is also teaming with Jagjaguwar to reissue on vinyl a pair of Dead C classics originally released by New Zealand's legendary Flying Nun label (the Clean, the Chills, the Bats, the Verlaines, etc). Eusa Kills and DR503 are due to hit shelves in mid-fall in double-LP form, and each packs in the extras. The former boasts a pair of cuts from the "Helen Said This" 12", while the latter crams in six jams off the The Sun Stabbed EP.

But wait, there's more! When the Dead C barnstorm the States this fall, they'll have with them a new, limited edition, tour-only 12". Take that, giant pool of brackish water.

Secret Earth:

01 Mansions

02 Stations

03 Plains

04 Waves

DR503 (vinyl reissue):

01 Max Harris

02 Speed Kills

03 The Wheel

04 Three Years

05 Mutterline

06 Country

07 I Love This

08 Polio

09 Angel *

10 Crazy I Know *

11 Fire *

12 Bad Politics *

13 Sun Stabbed *

14 Three Years *

Eusa Kills (vinyl reissue):

01 Scary Nest

02 Call Back Your Dogs

03 Alien to Be

04 Phantom Power

05 Now I Fall

06 I Was Here

07 Children

08 Bumtoe

09 Glasshole Pit

10 Maggot

11 Envelopment

12 Helen Said This *

13 Bury (Refutaio Omnium Haeresium) *

* bonus track


10-12 Philadelphia, PA - Johnny Brenda's #

10-13 New York, NY - Bowery Ballroom ^

10-16 San Francisco, CA - Great American Music Hall %

10-19 Chicago, IL - Empty Bottle $

# with Blues Control, Pink Reason

^ with Northampton Wools, Sightings

% with Six Organs of Admittance
$ with Wolf Eyes

No comments: